Yakkity Yak

Cries, babbles and now, it’s yakkity yak time! Our ‘lil man can hold a proper conversation with us now albeit the lack of clarity. Most of the times, we understand what he means. When it comes to those that get our heads scratching, we’d ask him to repeat 2-3x and if we still do not get it, we’d just go “oooh ah yes baby…”

Poor kid sometimes. I imagine a little voice in him goes off judgingly, “don’t be deceived by their responses, they actually don’t get you at all!” Oops.

Nowadays, he names everything he sees – “red bus”, “yellow crane”, “big car” and so forth. I repeat after him and he likes this routine whenever we are on the move. He recognises numbers now and can count from 1-20. We were actually very surprised when he did not just stop counting at 10 but continued till 20. Like whoa, where did that come from man, it was pretty funny when Sadiq and I looked at each other in disbelief then.

Funny story about how we discovered he could recognise his ABCs. We were in the plane, returning back home when I held out Scoot’s newsletter and casually pointed out the letter to him, in a bid to distract him to just sit still. To my surprise, he labelled it loud and clear. To say that I was clueless then is an understatement. Suffice to say, I went through the whole alphabet and he could name everything. *insert crying happy tears emoticon*

A child’s mine is really likened to a sponge, isn’t it…

I can no longer really keep up with his milestones. Gone are those days where I can actually know when he started doing this or that. Now, it’s just impossible. I just pray he absorbs all the good things life has to offer first.

Oh and how can I forget about the time where his daddy accidentally said $5#t! in front of him and the little one picked it up almost immediately to say “yeee!” Gosh, I had heart palpitations already can at that point of time. Sadiq was not spared from my petpotpetpot afterwards. To think he playfully retorted, “alaaa but he will eventually learn all this what…” in defence.

Macam nak chokeslam aje tau!

Leave a Reply

